So I am making an attempt to cook everynight.  I created a menu for the week of the recipies I want to try.  We went to Costco and Hy-Vee and stocked up our kitchen.  The fridge is overflowing!  So is the small freezer in the garage.  I chose this recipie from Real Simple for tonight since I knew it would be fast and easy.  I forgot to take a picture, but you’ll have to cut me some slack….I am new to this whole blogging thing.

Pasta with zucchini and goat cheese from Real Simple Magazine

12 oz linguine (we used spaghetti as it was what we had already)

1 tbl olive oil

1 lb zucchini sliced into thin half moons

kosher salt and pepper

1 clove garlic

5 oz fresh goat cheese, crumbled

2 tsp grated lemon zest

Cook the pasta according to package.  Reserve one cup of the cooking water, drain pasta and return to pot.

Heat the oil in a med skillet over med-high heat.  Add the zucchini, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/4 tsp pepper.  Cook until the zucchini is tender.  Add the garlic and stir for another minute.

Add the cheese to the pasta along with the water, 3/4 tsp salt, and 1/4 tsp pepper.  Stir until creamy.

Serve with the rest of the cheese, zucchini, and lemon zest.

 

We both liked this but agreed it was a little bland.  I also could have done without the lemon zest.  I liked the idea of using the goat cheese to make a sauce.  I have enough cheese left over to make it again.  I think I will add some chicken and tomatoes.  Mmm…

