I found this recipe in In Style magazine and thought I would give it a try.  I must admit that as a cooking novice I had a hard time with two of the ingredients.  Capers and grapeseed oil.  We usually only shop at costco and hy-vee.  Neither seem to carry these items.  You should have seem the look in the face of the teenage employee when we asked for capers.  I think he thought we were trying to mess with him!  So today we went to whole foods to find our elusive ingredients.

Now I was ready to try night two of cooking.  So without further ado…..

Tri-Tip Steak with salsa verde from In Style Magazine

For the salsa:

1 lemon, juiced with grated zest

2 tbsp capers, drained and chopped

4 anchovy fillets, chopped

4 cloves garlic. chopped

2 tbsp chopped fresh oregano

2 tbsp chopped fresh flat leaf parsley (we cheated and used some dry flakes we already had)

2 tsp chopped fresh mint (we also cheated on this and did not use fresh)

1 tsp kosher salt

3/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

You mix all of that together in a bowl.  I must say I was really glad to have my Pampered Chef chopper.  This was also my first time dealing with anchovies.  I am a fish person so I did not think twice about buying them.  Looking at them on the cutting board was a little funny though.

Here are my little fishy friends.

For the steak:

8 oz tri-tip steak per person (you can use sirloin tip as well)

2 tsp kosher salt

3 tsp grapeseed oil

Season the steak with the salt and drizzle with the oil.  You can cook on the grill or stovetop.  We chose grill, but DH said in the future he would cook on the grill since the oil created quite a fire! 

If you grill: heat to med-high and sear steaks until brown.  Rare is done with 3-5 min on each side. 

Stove-top:heat large skillet over med-high heat for 2 min.  Add oil to skiller, when hot, sear steaks until brown.

With the steak is cooked you cut into 1/4 inch slices.

We like ours rare!  We buy our meat from Costco and love it.  It was so tender and smelled so good.

Once cut spoon the salsa on top of the steaks.

We liked it, but did not love it.  Something about the salsa was a bit much.

