It was my turn to make a birthday cake for a co-worker.  As a child her mom would make her cherry chip cake with strawberry icing.  Once or twice the person who has had her cake remembered that and makes it.  It usually comes from the box.  I thought I would give it a shot from scratch.  I had everything I needed except the cherries and strawberries laying around.  So after the mess that was the manicotti I decided to bake a cake!  Here is what my kitchen looked like *after* I had filled the dishwasher for the first time.

Anyways…

Cherry Chip Cake from therecipeworks.com

Ingredients

3 cups cake flour
1 3/4 cups sugar
4 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup butter, softened
1/3 cup maraschino cherry juice
2/3 cup milk
16 maraschino cherries, very roughly chopped
5 egg whites (2/3 cup)
1/2 cup chopped pecans


Method

  1. Sift together flour, baking powder and salt.
  2. Blend together sugar and butter. Add cherry juice, and milk. Stir, then add dry ingredients.
  3. Beat 2 minutes and then add egg whites. Beat 2 minutes more. Fold in cherries and nuts.
  4. Pour into prepared 9-inch round cake pans and bake at 350F for 30 to 35 minutes, or until done.
  5. Cool and frost with a fluffy white frosting or your favourite frosting. Decorate with additional cherries.

DS discovered he loved cherries!  This cake turned out really yummy.  It was a dense cake with a lot over flavor.  The cherry taste was not overpowering.

Then..

Strawberry Icing from Martha Stewart

Ingredients

Makes enough for 1 dozen cupcakes

  • 1/2 cup whole frozen strawberries, thawed
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, firm and slightly cold
  • Pinch of coarse salt
  • 3 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Place strawberries in the bowl of a small food processor; process until pureed. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat together butter and salt on medium speed until light and fluffy. Reduce mixer speed and slowly add confectioners’ sugar; beat until well combined. Add vanilla and 3 tablespoons strawberry puree (save any remaining strawberry puree for another use); mix until just blended. Do not overmix or frosting will incorporate too much air. Frosting consistency should be dense and creamy, like ice cream.

Off course I had leftover strawberries and Corbin loved that.  He still has no desire to like batter.  He did think he had gone to heaven when I let him eat a spoonful of icing!

The icing was very sweet and very rich.  I found that letting it sit a while before serving kind of set it.  The girls at the office loved it! 

I made a double batch of the icing since I was scared I would not have enough (I work with sugar addicts).  I waaay too much.  So I also made a yellow cake at home to use the rest.  The light and fluffy yellow cake went well with this heavy icing.

