Ben loves meatloaf.  I will never understand why.  When I ran across this recipe in my Southern Living cookbook I thought it seemed like a good compromise.  I will eat anything with cheese on it!  I was very excited to try it.

Blue Cheese Meatloaf Roll from The Ultimate Southern Living Cookbook

8 slice white bread, torn into pieces

1/4 c milk

4oz crumbled cheese

1 lg egg, slightly beaten

1 lb ground round

1/2 lb ground pork

2 c soft breadcrumbs (it called for homeade, but we had a can I used)

1/2 c chopped onion

2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1/4c ketchup

3 tbls chopped fresh parsley (I used dried since that was what I had on hand)

1 tbl Worcesterchire sauce

2 lg eggs, lightly beaten

Garnish:fresh parsley…we skipped this

*combine torn bread and milk into a bowl, stir in blue cheese and one egg. 

I tried to get Corbin to tear the bread crumbs for me, he was more interested in eating the bread.  “I just eat this piece and tear the rest”  then he would eat another piece and say the same thing.

*combine groud round and next nine ingredients.  Shape into a 15×12 inch rectangle on heavy duty plastic wrap.

*spoon blue cheese mixture on top, spreading within one inch of edges.  Roll up in a jelly roll fashion.  Press edges and ends to seal.

 

*Place meat loaf roll, seam side down, on a lightly greased rack, place rack in a foil lined broiler pan.  Bake at 375 for 1 hour or until meat therm reads 160 degrees.  Garnish if desired.

6 servings…434 calories per serving….15.9g fat.

I loved it.  Ben determined that he did not like blue cheese.  I don’t think I crumbled it snall enough.  I really enjoyed that taste of it and the softness of the bread inside.  The meat was very well seasoned.  We are going to to try again with either cheddar or mozarella to see if he likes it better that way.

