I decided to attempt making my own baby food.  I have tried to elminate processed foods from our diets.  Shouldn’t I do the same for my baby?  Also, have you priced organic baby food? It hurts.  So I spent six hours of my life, yes six hours, stocking our fridge with a nice variety.  She won’t eat them until around the first of the year, but I wanted to get it done before the holidays.

dsc02874

We used a steamer for the green beans, corn, peas, and carrots. 

dsc02875

I used the oven for sweet potatoes, butternut squash, and pumpkin (yet another use).

dsc02877

We don’t have a blender so we used a food processor. It did the trick just fine.  The pears and bananas did not have to be cooked at all.  The pears had been in the freezer since I was afraid they were going to go bad a couple days ago,that made them watery enough.

dsc02882

I put the food in ice cude trays in the freezer.

dsc02885

Once the food froze I put the cubes in baggies to make it easier to thaw as needed.

dsc02887

And now a quarter of my freeezer is full!  I can’t remember exactly how much baby food Corbin went through, so I am not sure how long this will last.   But I spent less than $15 for this endeavor.  I am still going to let Gerber provide meat.  I may also consider tofu.

