dsc02899

 

 

Ben never lets me make chili.  He always makes it and I think it lacks a bit of flavor.  I knew that he would be gone for most of the day taking a test, so I seized the opportunity.  I found this recipe on my friend Julies blog.  When she said that it was a bit spicey I knew I had to try it!

Fireman’s Chili
Ingredients:
1/2 cup butter
1 Green Pepper                                                                                                                                                  
3 cups chopped onions
4 cloves garlic, minced
2 lbs coarsely ground chuck
1 lb coarsely ground pork
1 T ground cumin
1 t basil
1 1/2 t cayenne pepper
1/2 t black pepper
5 T hot chili powder
1 (28oz) can whole tomatoes, chopped
1 (10 1/2 oz) beef broth
1 C dry red wine(Burgundy)
1 (6oz) can tomato paste
1/2 t crushed hot red pepper
1 T salt
2 (16oz) cans dark red kidney beans ( of which I had a can of Archer Farms and a can of Bushs…get the the Bushs)
.

1. Melt butter in large pot and saute peppers about 10 min. Add onions and garlic; cook 5 more minutes. Add beef and pork mixture; increase heat to high. Cook stirring occasionally until meat is no longer pink.. about 10-15 min.

2. Stir in cumin, basil, cayenne, black pepper and chili powder. Stir in tomatoes, beef broth, wine, tomato paste, hot red pepper and salt. Simmer, covered, about 2 hours.

3. Add kidney beans, simmer for an additional 45 minutes serve with extra sharp cheddar cheese, sour cream

I have never put sour cream in chili.  It was a great addition to the spicy chili!  It was not so spicy that I could not eat it.  Just right really.  Julie made hers less spicy by making a few changes.  I think she is a wimp 😉

Of course me father added ketchup to his bowl to make it less spicy….breaks my heart….

