I decided to try a recipe for frozen pizza dough I found on a fellow nesties blog.  I have done really well with my quest to give up processed foods.  One thing we have not given up is the frozen pizzas from Costco.  We like to have them on hand for a night that is crazy or we are feeling lazy.  This is a good solution to that problem.

dsc02980

Pizza Dough

  • 1 tablespoon instant yeast
  • 1 cup warm water (110 degrees F to 115 degrees F)
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (or 1 1/2 whole wheat and 1 all purpose)

Mix water and oil, then add yeast, sugar, and salt.  The batch pictured above I added 1 tsp of Italian Herbs.  The next batch I added garlic salt.

 Add 2 cups flour; beat until smooth. stir in enough remaining flour to form a soft dough.

Turn onto a floured surface; knead until smooth and elastic, about 6-8 minutes.  This was my favorite part!

Place in a greased bowl, turning once to grease top. Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 30 minutes.

Then flatten the dough onto a cookie sheet and put in the freezer.  After it thaws pop it of the tray and wrap in bags or foil.  I made the dough with garlic in it a bit thicker.  I think I am going to use that for a garlic cheese bread.  The other will be a pesto pizza.
When you go to use it just add your toppings while it is still frozen.

Bake 10-12 min at 450 degrees.

