dsc030701

I saw these somewhere in the blog world and remembered making them as a kid!

I altered a peanuit butter blossom recipe from my Better Homes and Gardens.  I find these recipe to be easy to make and work with.

1/2 c shortening (I use butter flavor)

1/2 c peanut butter

1/2 granulated sugar

1/2 c packed brown sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1/8 tsp baking soda

1 egg

2 tbl milk (I used buttermilk)

1 tsp vanilla

1 3/4 c all-purpose flour

red m&ms, pretzels, and chocolate chips

1-pre-heat oven to 350

2-In a lg mixing bowl beat shortening and peanut butter with an electric mixer on med to high speed for 30 seconds.  Add the 1/2 c sugar, brown sugar, baking powder, and baking soda.  Beat until combined, scraping sides of bowl.  Beat in egg, milk, and vanilla until combined. Beat in as much flour as you can with mixer.  Stir in any remaining flour.

3- Shape dough into circles and add the pretzels, m&ms, and chocolate chips.

