dsc03760

We joined a meat CSA a few months back.  One of the meats that came last month was ground pork sausage.  I don’t really eat a lot of pork.  So I was hard pressed to figure out what to make.  A quick google search gave me this.  It was a little more fattening than I usually do for dinner, but pretty good.

Ingredients-

6 hot sausage, raw, diced as small as you can cut (we, of course, used ground pork sausage.  I am sure Polish Sausage would be good as well)

1 lg baguette (we used whole grain)

2 cloves garlic, diced

1/2 bunch diced green onion

2 tbsp olive oil

1 roasted red pepper, finely diced

1 tbsp red wine vinegar

s& p to taste

1 sprig fresh thyme

2 tomatos, large, diced

1 c red wine (ours was a Cupcake wine, Cab I think)

1 pint fresh raspberries

1 tsp chipolte paste

Fresh parmesan

Directions-

1. dice veggies and sausage

2.Heat pot with oil, med

3. Add sausage and brown

4.Add garlic and veggies, saute for 2 min.

5.Add vinegar, chipolte, red wine, thyme, s&p, raspberries, reduce heat and simmer 5 min.

6.Add tomatoes and simmer another 2min.

7.brush your cut baguette rounds with oil and toast to golden brown (I skipped this, just cooked and cut it).

8.Top baguette slices with the mixture, grate fresh cheese on top. 

The raspberries where a good mix with the heavy sausage.  I think if we make this again we will add fresh mozzarella.

